Peshawar Zalmi chase down 194 against Multan Sultans in PSL 2021

Published:5 March 2021

Peshawar Zalmi PSL

After a high-scoring previous meeting, this time between the Peshawar Zalmi and the Multan Sultans, it was time for another exciting match. The former won the toss and first decided to bowl. The team chasing had won the previous four games, and therefore this decision did not come as a surprise.

As Mohammad Rizwan scored a 28-ball 41 to help his team get off to a good beginning continued his excellent form. Rizwan and James Vince steadied the ship for their side after losing Chris Lynn's wicket early on. They combined to form a partnership of 82 runs that set the finishers' stage to do their job.

With a score of 84 in just 55 deliveries, Vince, who was in great shape during the BBL, continued his golden streak. Nine boundaries and three sixes included his knock. At the end of their 20 overs, Sohaib Maqsoob played a strong 36-run cameo to help his team cross a score of 193.

The Peshawar side's wickets included Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Irfan, and Saqib Mahmood, while Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Wahab Riaz had a day off. Chasing 194 was not going to be easy, but the batting line-up had the ability and prowess to accomplish the target.

Vital responses from the top three meant they were still in the chase. After getting strong starts of 48 and 37, respectively, Imam-ul-Haq and Kamran Akmal were dismissed. Tom Kohler-Cadmore did not make this error, and he converted his start into a 50 plus ranking.

The top-order had done their job, and it was now time to seal the game for the finishers. Haider Ali took the game away from them in a flash, right as the Multan side thought they were back in the game. Two fours and two sixes were included in his knock of 24 from 8 balls.

He and Shoaib Malik teamed up to score 24 runs from the 19th over to finish the match with one to spare. For his knock of 53 out of 32 balls that set up the Peshawar Zalmi game, Cadmore was named the man of the match. This was their first win of the PSL season.