Hyderabad Got Their Fourth Win By Defeating Punjab

Published:5 May 2022

ICC is confident

Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad face each other today in the 28th match of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL). In this match, Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Punjab Kings by 7 wickets and picked up their fourth victory in the tournament. At the same time, the team has risen to number 4 in the table with 8 points from 4 wins. The Hyderabad batsmen easily surpassed the medium target of 152 runs given by Punjab, and they won with 7 balls left in the innings.

Batting at the target of 152 runs, Hyderabad was in problem from the beginning. Opener Ken Williamson returned to the dressing room after adding 14 runs to the scorecard. However, another opener Abhishek Sharma batted responsibly. He was dismissed for 31 off 25 balls, leaving the team in a good position. Rahul Tripathi has always been successful at number three. Tripathi played 34 runs from 22 balls innings, taking the team one step further towards victory.

Aiden Markram and Nicholas Puran, two foreign recruits from Hyderabad, did a good job finishing. Markram's 41 off 27 balls and Puran's 35 off 30 balls helped the team to anchor in the port of victory. The Punjab bowlers could not make any threat to the Hyderabad batsman in the match. Only Rahul Chahar has a notable bowling figure; and he took 2 wickets for 28 runs in 4 overs, and Kagiso Rabada took 1 wicket for 29 runs.

Earlier, after losing the toss Punjab Kings was forced to bat, but did not get a very big collection. Two openers Shekhar Dhawan and Prabhsimran Singh failed to give a good start. Johnny Barrister, who came in at number three, scored only 12 runs. However, English all-rounder Liam Livingstone has taken the helm of the middle order. He enriched the team score by scoring 60 runs from 33 balls with 5 fours and 4 sixes. In the end, Shah Rukh Khan's 26 and Odin Smith's 13 helped the team score at 151 runs.

Umran Malik and Bhubaneswar Kumars made pressure on the Punjab batsmen from the start. These two bowlers took 7 wickets for Hyderabad. Bhubaneswar Kumar took 3 wickets for 22 runs. Umram Malik has spent 28 runs to take 4 wickets. Jagadisha Suchith and Natarjan also got one wicket each.